Historical Concert

Wednesday, December 16, 1903
1903-1904, Concert II of IV

A concert of wind-instrument chamber music.


The Queen's Hall (London) wind-instrument quintet:

Albert Fransella - flute
Désiré Lalande - oboe
Manuel Gomez - clarinet
E. F. James - bassoon
A. Borsdorf - horn

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Quintet, op. 88, no. 2 in E flat major ... Anton Reicha
(a) lento and allegro moderato
(b) menuetto
(c) poso andante, grazioso
(d) allegretto

Quintet, op. 81, in F major ... George Onslow
(a) allegro non troppo
(b) scherzo
(c) andante sostenuto
(d) allegro spirituoso

Suite, op. 57 ... Charles Lefebvre
(a) canon
(b) allegretto scherzando
(c) allegro leggiero (finale)

Pastorale, op. 14, in A minor ... Gabriel Pierné

Prélude et Menuet des petits violons ... Emile Pessard

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The 'introduction to the programme' consists of a four-page essay (pp.3-6) concerning chamber music written for wind instruments. The essay begins with the interesting statement that 'It is an extremely rare phenomenon to meet with a programme entirely made up of wind-instrument chamber music.' Composers singled out for special attention are Anton Reicha and George Onslow.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1903-1904 series.