Historical Concert

Wednesday, December 10, 1902
1902-1903, Concert II of IV

A recital of British-Irish harpsichord and pianoforte music (from the 16th to the present century).


Miss Fanny Davies - performer

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

First period:-
Pavana, "the earle of Salisbury" ... William Byrd

"The king's hunt" ... John Bull

Galliardo in C major ... Orlando Gibbons

Second period:-
Chaconne in G minor ... John Blow

(a) Toccata in A major ... Henry Purcell
(b) Ground in C minor ... Henry Purcell

Third period:-
Two movements from the sonata in B flat major ... James Nares
(a) Larghetto (b) allegro

Sonata in B flat major ... Thomas Augustine Arne
(a) Introduction (b) gavotta

Fourth period:-
Nocturne in A major ... John Field

Fifth period:-
(a) Capriccio in A minor, no. 2 of op. 28 ... William Sterndale Bennett
(b) "The lake" and "the fountain", nos. 1 and 3 of "three musical sketches", op. 10 ... William Sterndale Bennett

Sixth period:-
"Reminiscence," no. 3 of op. 20, "six pieces" ... Alexander Campbell Mackenzie

Scherzo (MS) ... Charles Villiers Stanford

Characteristic piece ... S. Coleridge-Taylor

Concert allegro (written for and dedicated to Fanny Davies) ... Edward William Elgar

Scherzo ... Frederic H. Cowen

Andante ... Donald Francis Tovey

Etude mignonne ... Percy Pitt

Allegretto grazioso ... Norman O'Neill

Concert study (dedicated to Fanny Davies) ... Arthur Somervell


8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The 'introduction to the programme' consists of a two-page essay (pp.2-3) on British keyboard music.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On p.6 - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts.


The concert contains a relatively early work by Donald Francis Tovey.