Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 20, 1901
1901-1902, Concert I of IV

The sonata for pianoforte and violin, from J. S. Bach to Mozart.


Mr Philip E. Halstead - pianist
Mr Henri Verbrugghen - violinist
Miss Marguerite Simpson - vocalist
Mr A. Scott Jupp - accompanist

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Sonata for clavier and violin in E major ... Johann Sebastian Bach
Adagio - Allegro - Adagio, ma non tanto - Allegro

Aria, "My heart ever faithful" (from the church cantata "Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt") ... J. S. Bach

Sonata for clavier and violin in C minor ... Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
Allegro moderato - Adagio ma non troppo - Presto

Aria, "With verdure clad" (from "The Creation") ... J. Haydn

Sonata for pianoforte and violin in G major ... Joseph Haydn
Andante - Allegro

Aria, "Deh vieni" (from "Le Nozze di Figaro") ... W. A. Mozart

Sonata for pianoforte and violin in B flat major ... W. A. Mozart
Allegro moderato - Andantino sostenuto e cantabile - Allegro (rondo)

8-page programme
Programme Notes: 

The preface to the programme consists of a four-page essay (pp.3-6) on the sonata and sonata form, with three sections headed 'the term "sonata," 'the modern sonata' and 'older forms of the clavier and violin sonata'.   

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

Outside back cover - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1901-1902 season.


Although the Mozart sonata in B flat major for violin and piano given at this concert is not assigned a number, the movement titles suggests it was no. 26, K. 378.