Historical Concert

Wednesday, January 24, 1906
1905-1906, Concert II of IV

Unaccompanied choral music of the sixteenth century, and accompanied choral and solo vocal music of the early eighteenth century.


Mr Moonie's choir
Mr J. A. Moonie - conductor
Miss Mary Russell - pianoforte
Mr Matthew Shirlaw, Mus.B. - organ

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Part I

Missa Brevis in the Ionian (XIII) mode transposed, for four voices ... Giovanni Pierluigi Palestrina


Missa "Puisque j'ay perdu" in the eighth mode, for four voices ... Orlandus Lassus (Orlando Lasso)
(For want of time the Gloria wil be omitted)

Part II

"Stabat Mater," for soprano, contralto, tenor, and bass solo, chorus and instrumental accompaniment (represented by pianoforte and organ) ... Emanuele D'Astorga


"Dixit Dominus," for double chorus (8 parts), solos, and instrumental accompaniment (represented by pianoforte and organ) ... Leonardo Leo


8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Two-page essay (pp.3-4) entitled 'prefatory note' that includes a comparison of the characteristics of sixteenth- and early eighteenth-century music.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts.