Historical Concert

Wednesday, November 15, 1905
1905-1906, Concert I of IV

"J. S. Bach and his contemporaries," a recital on the harpsichord and pianoforte, by Mademoiselle Wanda Landowska.


Mademoiselle Wanda Landowska - harpsichord and pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

1. Suite Anglaise, no. 5, in E minor ... Johann Sebastian Bach

2. Sarabande (from Sonate d'intavolatura per organo o cimbalo) ... Domenico Zipoli

3. Divertimento ... Francesco Durante

4. Sonata Pastorale, and sonata in F minor ... Domenico Scarlatti

5. Air and variations in E major, known as "The Harmonious Blacksmith," from the 5th suite of the first collection of harpsichord pieces ... Georg Friedrich Handel

6. Sarabandes and variations ... Johann Mattheson

7. Fantaisie ... Georg Philipp Telemann

8. "Les Tricotets" ... Jean Philippe Rameau

9. Two unpublished minuets ... Louis Clérambault

10. "Le Coucou" ... Claude Daquin

11. "Les Folies françaises ou les Dominos ... François Couperin
      "Le Dodo ou l'Amour au Berceau"
      "Musète de Taverni"

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Three-page essay (pp.3-5) entitled 'preliminary note', including a discussion of the merits of looking beyond the works of Bach and Handel.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts.