Edinburgh University Summer Concerts 1989

Friday, June 2, 1989
8 pm
1989, first concert

The Catsalian Band

Lorna Anderson - soprano
Lucy Carolan - harpsichord
Richard Gwilt - baroque violin
Imogen Seth-Smith - baroque cello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Un' alma innamorata ... G.F. Handel
(soprano, violin and continuo)

Sonata III in A major (violin and continuo)... G.F. Handel

My Lovely Celia (soprano and continuo) ... Alexander Munro

My Bonnie Jean (soprano and continuo) ... W. Thomson (ed)
[from Orpheus Caledonius, 1725]

My Bonnie Jean of Aberdeen ... Alexander Munro
(violin and continuo)

The Maid of Selma (soprano and continuo) ... James Oswald

The Lover's message (soprano and continuo) ... Thomas Erskine

Pastora - A Cantata (soprano, violin and continuo) ... N. Pasquali
[from Thorough Bass Made Easy]


Meine Seele hört im Sehen
Süsse Stille
Flammende Rose
(soprano, violin and continuo) ... G.F. Handel

Suite in B flat for solo harpsichord ... G.F. Handel

Figlio d'alte speranze ... G.F. Handel
(soprano, violin and continuo)


Instrument / Organ Specification: 
8-page yellow series booklet
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.

Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh

Two-manual harpsichord by Robert Falkener (1773).  Restored by W.R. Thomas and J.J.K. Rhodes in 1953 with more recent work by John Barnes.
Harpsichord maintenance by Grant O'Brien and John Raymond.
Interval refreshments in the Laigh Room by kind assistance of the Friends of St Cecilia's Hall.