Edinburgh University Summer Concerts 1989

Saturday, June 24, 1989
7.30 pm
1989, fifth concert

William Jones - Joacim
Margaret Aronson - Susanna
Ian Langdale-Brown - Chelsias
Ian Darling - 1st Elder
Anthony Holt - 2nd Elder
Fiona Scrimgeour - Attendant
Lucy Maxwell-Stewart - Daniel

Christopher Field - orchestra leader
John Kitchen - organ

Directed by David Kimbell 

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Susanna: an Oratorio by G. F. Handel (1748)

The oratorio will be performed in five scenes, between which movements from Handel concertos will be played.

Scene 1 - Joacim and Susanna
Scene 2 - The two Elders
Scene 3 - Susanna bathing
Scene 4 - Susanna's trial
Scene 5 - Joacim's return  

Instrument / Organ Specification: 
8-page yellow series booklet
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.

[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh

Organ maintenance by James A. MacKenzie.
During the interval the Collection of Historical Musical Instruments will be open to members of the audience.