Edinburgh Orchestral Festival 1879

Friday, February 14, 1879
8.00 pm

Second Grand Orchestral Concert at the Edinburgh Orchestral Festival 1879
on Friday evening,  February 14th, 1879.  Concert to commence at eight p.m.


Orchestra of 70 performers

Miss Emma Thursby - soprano
Madlle. Amalie Kling - contralto
  From Berlin etc. etc.
Herr Straus - leader
Mr Charles Hallé - solo pianist and conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Part I
Overture, "Faust" ... Spohr
  (First time)

Concert Air, "Mia Speranza Adorata" ... Mozart
  Miss Emma Thursby

Pianoforte Concerto in G minor ... St. Säens
  Mr Hallé and his orchestra
  (First time in Scotland)

Air, "Mein glaubiges Herze" [BWV 68] ... Bach
  Madlle Amalie Kling
 (violoncello obbligato - Mons. Vieuxtemps)

Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 73 ... Brahms
  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Adagio non troppo
  3. Allegretto grazioso, quasi Andantino; and Presto, ma non assai
  (Produced at Vienna, Christmas Eve, 1877)


Part II
Overture, "Hermann and Dorothea" ... Schumann
  (First time in Scotland)

Romance, "Jours de mon enfance" (Le Pré aux cleres) ... Herold
  Miss Emma Thursby
 (violin obbligato - Herr Straus)

Orchestral Pieces -
  (a) Menuetto, for muted strings ... Boccherini
    (By special desire)
  (b) Swedith Peasant's March" ... Soden
   (First time in Scotland)

Lieder, (a) "Jagdlied" ... Mendelssohn
           (b) "Haidenröslein" ... Schubert
  Madlle A. Kling

Pianoforte solo, "Rhapsodie Hongroise," no. 8 ... Liszt
  Mr Charles Hallé

Overture, "Egmont" ... Beethoven



Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.


It has not been possible to identify a composer by the name of Soden and this name may be a misprint in the programme or an abbreviation.  The orchestral piece, "Swedish Peasant's March" should perhaps have been attributed to Johan August Söderman (1832-1876) a Swedish composer, pianist and violinist who composed a work entitled "Swedish Peasant's Wedding March".  (In this database the work has been attributed to Söderman.)