A Celebration of the life and work of Kenneth Leighton

Sunday, October 24, 1993
7.30 pm

The Choir of Wakefield Cathedral - directed by Jonathan Bielby
Sean Farrell - organ
Tracey Chadwell - soprano
John Turner - recorder
Jonathan Price - cello
Jonathan Bielby - harpsichord


Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme includes works by Leighton, Tallis, Byrd, Tomkins, Vaughan Williams and Finzi
and the Scottish Premiere of 'Lights Out' by Edward Harper.

O Nata Lux ... Tallis
Sing we Joyfully ... Byrd

A Verse ... Carlton
A Fancy ... Tomkins
  organ duet

Animal Heaven, opus 83 ... Leighton
  soprano and ensemble

Te Deum ...  Leighton
Let all the World ...  Leighton

Light's Out (first performance) ... Harper
  soprano and ensemble

O Taste and See ... Vaughan Williams
God is Gone up ... Finzi
Finale from 'Sequence for All Saints' ... Leighton
  choir and organ

Paean ... Leighton

Lully, lulla opus 25, no. 2 ... Leighton
The Beauty of Holiness ... Leighton
  soprano, choir and organ


Instrument / Organ Specification: 

Performance Type:

Programme Notes: 

Programme information taken from the brochure

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets £6, Concessions £3.50 from the Queen's Hall Box Office and the Faculty of Music office.
[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh

The concert was repeated the following day in Paisley Abbey.

The 1993-1994 season of Reid Concerts celebrated the Centenary of the Faculty of Music at the University of Edinburgh