Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1979

Saturday, May 12, 1979
8 pm

First in a series of six concerts entitled 'Bach at St Cecilia's Hall', given mostly at St Cecilia's Hall in the summer of 1979.


Jaap Schröder - baroque violin
Alda Stuurop - baroque violin
Wouter Möller - baroque cello

Peter Williams - harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Sonnatas of III Parts: TwoViolins and Basse: To the Organ of Harpsechord.  Composed by Henry Purcell, Composer in Ordinary to his most Sacred Majesty, and organist of his Chappell Royall, London, Printed for the Author: and sold by I Playford and I Carr at the Temple, Fleet Street, 1685.

Sonata no. 1 in G minor
 (Andante)  Vivace   Adagio
  Presto   Largo

Sonata no. 2 in B flat major
 (Andante con moto)  Largo-Presto
  Adagio-Vivace   Allegro

Sonata no. 3 in D minor
 (Andante con moto)   Canzona
  Poco Largo-Allegro


Sonata no. 4 in F major
 (Andante)   Canzona
  Poco Largo   Allegro

Sonata no. 5 in A minor
 (Allegro moderato)   Adagio
  Largo   Grave-Canzona

Sonata no. 6 in C major
 (Andante con moto_   Canzona
  Largo   Allegro


8-page booklet on green paper
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes

This first complete performance of the Purcell Trio Sonatas has been prepared from the new edition made by Michael Tilmouth for the Purcell Society.  [set of 12 performed over two concerts on 12 and 13 May 1979]

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets £1 (season ticket £5 for six concerts), Student tickets 50p, on sale at the Edinburgh Book Shop, George Street
Publicity and Reviews: 

Poster on green paper giving outline details of the six concerts

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press, Edinburgh

After the concert Michael Tilmouth will direct a discussion of Purcell's Trio Sonatas.

Presented by the Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh, which acknowledges the financial assistance of the Scottish Arts Council for the two concerts on 12 and 13 May.
During the interval coffee and biscuits will be on sale in the Laigh Room by kind assistance of the Friends of St Cecilia's Hall.
Harpsichord restoration by John Barnes.  Pitch a'=440Hz