Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1977

Saturday, May 14, 1977
8 pm
1977, Concert 7 of 7

Seventh of a series of seven concerts entitled 'Bach at St Cecilia's Hall', given mostly at St Cecilia's Hall in the summer of 1977.

A Jazz Invention: Ole Mr Bach again.


Miles Baster - violin
Peter Williams - harpsichord

The Raymond Monelle Trio
  Raymond Monelle - piano
  Boyd Pomeroy - bass
  Andrew Shivas - drums

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme of music, informed and composed, by J.S. Bach

1.  French Suite no. 4, in E flat - Peter Williams

2.  "Tertia minor" - The Trio

3.  French Suite no. 4, alternative version - The Trio

4.  Sonata in E, for violin and harpsichord - Miles Baster and Peter Williams
       Adagio ma non tanto

Interval (20 minutes)

5.  Sonata in E, alternative version - Miles Baster and the Trio

6.  Three Inventions - Peter Williams
       Two-part, in G minor
       Two-part in E flat major
       Three-part, in G major

7.  Three Inventions, alternative version - The Trio

8.  Brandenburg Concerto no. 5 in D major - Miles Baster and the Trio

12-page booklet on beige paper outlining all seven concerts, single sheet A4 salmon paper
Programme Notes: 

Just how jazzy is Bach?  You can only tell by comparing jazzed Bach with the original, and this we propose to do tonight.  Perhaps the first lesson to be learned from Loussier and Les Swingles is that while Bach can be made to sound dull, jazz cannot, without ceasing to be jazz - and so a new insight can often be gained from jazzing a familiar item of Bach's music.

It is to be hoped that neither Bach nor jazz will sound dull tonight.  the Trio's first item is an original composition based on a Bach idea; every subsequent not is by the Master, except for improvisations.  R.M.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 60p, students 35p
Publicity and Reviews: 

Publicity posters in two sizes on beige paper with green print, outlining all seven concerts with details of ticket prices.  Tickets on sale at the Edinburgh Bookshop, George Street, Edinburgh.
Several advertisements in the press in advance of the series (7 May 1977) and in advance of each concert).  

Programme is in the form of a brochure with details of all seven concerts and a single sheet (salmon) with details of the jazz programme.
The programme booklet gave information and a list of "works to be chosen from":
   The format of "A Jazz Invention" is somewhat changed this year.  To demonstrate the latent jazz already present in much of Bach's music, pieces will be performed in the normal style first by Miles Baster and Peter Williams, and afterwards will undergo a sea-change at the hands of the Raymond Monelle Trio.
The most conclusive demonstration will a sonata for violin and obbligato harpsichord which Miles Baster, departing from his customary persona, will play in moern jazz style.  The Trio too will venture beyond their usual limits and play original jazz numbers, informed, but not composed, by Bach.
  Works to be chosen from:
  Two- and three-part inventions
  Organ fugues in C major (BWV 545 and D major (BWV 532)
  Concerto for organ in A minor, BWV 593
  French suites nos. 1 in D minor and 4 in E flat major
  Partita for solo violin in E major
  Sonata for solo violin and obbligato harpsichord in E major
  Italian concerto
  Orchestral suite no. 2 in D major
  Organ toccata and fugue in D minor. BWV 565
  Partita no. 1 in B flat major

Special Poster on Blue paper A3 size advertising the jazz programme.

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Ltd.; Edinburgh, University of Edinburgh, Faculty of Music

During the interval of the concert coffee and biscuits on sale in the Laigh Room by kind assistance of the Friends of St Cecilia's Hall

Harpichord maintenance by John Barnes and Grant O'Brien

"Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1978" will include a recital of piano transcriptions of J.S. Bach (Brahms, Busoni, etc.) played by Peter Evans, solo suites played on the baroque cello (including the violoncello piccolo) by Wouter Möller, the two lute suites played by Nigel North, clavichord works played by Coin Kingsley, harpsichord music played by Lucy Carolan and the "Goldberg Variations" played by Peter Williams.