Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1975

Sunday, June 1, 1975
8 pm
1975, Concert 3 of 7

Third of a series of seven concerts entitled 'Bach at St Cecilia's Hall', given at St Cecilia's Hall in the summer of 1975.
Concertos for 3 and 4 harpsichords ; Organ Trio sonatas


Edna Arthur - violin
Janet Bond - violin
Katherine Kerr - viola
Gilliam Thomas - cello
Valerie Botwright - double bass
Michael Chibbett - organ
Thomas Laing-Reilly - organ
Leon Coates - harpsichord
Colin Kingsley - harpsichord
Peter Williams - harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme of music by J.S. Bach 

Sinfonia from Cantata 49, "Ich geh' und suche mit Verlangen." for organ and strings.

Organ Prelude and Fugue in D minor, BWV 539
  (Arranged for two harpsichords from an organ arrangement of a movement in the Solo violin sonata, BWV 1001)

Organ Trio in G major, BWV 586
  (Single movement arranged by J.S. Bach from a Telemann trio, and newly arranged for two chamber organs)

Concerto in C major for two harpsichords, BWV 1061
  Allegro (Fuga)


Organ Trio Sonata in E minor, BWV 528
  (Arranged for two chamber organs)
  Un poco Allegro

Concerto in A minor for four harpsichords, BWV 1065
  (Arranged by J.S. Bach from Vivaldi's concerto in A minor, opus 3, no. 10)


Four Italian harpsichords:  Anon. c. 1600 (Russell Collection); Garrett and Clayson 1971; Zuckerman 1972, 1974
Two English organs, c. 1690, c. 1750

12-page booklet on yellow paper
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 75p (Season Ticket for any 6 concerts, £4)
Publicity and Reviews: 

Publicity posters in two sizes on yellow paper, outlining all seven concerts with details of ticket prices.  Tickets on sale at the Edinburgh Bookshop, George Street, Edinburgh.
Several advertisements in the press in advance of the series and in advance of each concert.

Advertisement The Scotsman, 31 May 1975, Review 'Bach at St Cecilia's' in The Scotsman, 3 June 1975. 

Programme is in the form of a brochure with details of all seven concerts.

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Ltd. Edinburgh

During the interval of the concert coffee and biscuits on sale in the Laigh Room.


Harpsichord maintenance by John Barnes.