Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1975

Sunday, May 25, 1975
8.30 pm
1975, Concert 1 of 7

First of a series of seven concerts entitled 'Bach at St Cecilia's Hall', given at St Cecilia's Hall in the summer of 1975.
French Suite, English Suite, Toccata, Concerto etc.


Kenneth Gilbert (Paris) - harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Programme of music by J.S. Bach

Concerto in D minor, BWV 987
 (Arranged by J.S.Bach from the Concerto opus 1, no. 4 by Duke Johann Ernst von Sachsen-Weimar)

French Suite no. 3 in B minor, BWV 814
  Menuet and Trio

Adagio in G major, BWV 968
 (Arranged by J.S.Bach (?) from the Solo Violin Sonata, BWV 1005

Toccata in G major, BWV 916


Three Menuets, BWV 841, 842, 843

English Suite no. 4 in F major, BWV 809
  Menuets 1 & 2


Harpsichord by J. A. Hass 1763
Low pitch (a'=415Hz)

12-page booklet on yellow paper
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 75p (Season Ticket for any 6 concerts, £4), Supper tickets 75p
Publicity and Reviews: 

Publicity posters in two sizes on yellow paper, outlining all seven concerts with details of ticket prices.  Tickets on sale at the Edinburgh Bookshop, George Street, Edinburgh.
Several advertisements in the press in advance of the series and in advance of each concert.

Advertisement The Scotsman, 24 May 1975, Review 'Bach at St Cecilia's Hall' in The Scotsman, 26 May 1975. 

Programme is in the form of a brochure with details of all six concerts.

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Ltd. Edinburgh

A lecture on the programme "French, Italian and English elements in Bach" was given by Kenneth Gilbert at 7 pm in the Laigh Room (a room on the ground floor immediately below the concert room).
The lecture was followed by a buffet supper with wine at 7.45 pm  Tickets for the buffet supper, 75p.

During the interval of the concert coffee and biscuits on sale in the Laigh Room.


Harpsichord maintenance by John Barnes.