Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1973

Tuesday, June 12, 1973
10 pm
1973, Concert 6 of 6

Late-night entertainment

A jazz invention based on the music of J.S. Bach

"Bach plays it cool"


Frank Pantrini Quintet
  Frank Pantrini - tenor saxophone
  Johnny Goldie - trumpet
  Kenny Crawford - piano
  Rikki Fernandez - bass
  Bill Lothian - drums
 with Raymond Monelle - piano
  and Peter Williams - harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


Break City ... arr. Kenny Crawford
   The Frank Pantrini Quartet

Three-part invention in F major ... Bach
Two-part invention in E flat major ... Bach
   Raymond Monelle with Rikki Fernandez and Bill Lothian

Brandenburg be-bop ... Bach arr. Raymond Monelle
  The Quintet

Three-part invention in G minor ... Bach
Two-part invention in A major ... Bach
  Peter Williams

Secret Love ... arr. Frank Pantrini
  The Quintet

French Suite no. 1, in D minor ... Bach

Blue Mass ... Bach, arr. Raymond Monelle
Blue in Green ... arr. Kenny Crawford


8-page blue booklet outlining all six concerts plus single typewritten A4 blue sheet
Programme Notes: 

Much baroque instrumental music, which looks so sedate and demure, was performed (we now know) with dotted rhythms and syncopations, called "notes inégales".  In other words, it was "swung".  Add to this the fact that clusters of extempore ornaments were added, and you realise that only the rhythm section - bass and drums - was lacking from something very like some modern jazz.  Tonight we take several familiar morsels of Bach and review them in terms of straight performances plus rhythm; of "jazzed" version, plus improvisation; and finally in jazz band terms, leaving Bach behind as the players "go to town".
The quintet, famed for their "Jazz at the Clarendon" series, intersperse some of their own highly successful arrangements.   RM.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 50p
Publicity and Reviews: 

Poster for the series Bach at St Cecilia's Hall 1973 plus an additional poster for this jazz concert, "Bach plays it cool".

[Reid] Professor: 
Summerhall Press Ltd. Edinburgh