Bach 1984

Saturday, June 2, 1984
8 pm
1984, fourth concert

Fourth in a series of seven concerts entitled 'Bach', given at St Cecilia's Hall and the Reid Concert Hall in the summer of 1984.


Peter Williams - fortepiano and harpsichord

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

Piano music of J.S. Bach

Ricercar à 3 from 'Musical Offering' (harpsichord)

Preludes & Fugues from 'The 48' Book 2
  E-flat major (fortepiano)
  F-sharp major (harpsichord)
  B major (fortepiano)
  B minor (harpsichord)

From the 'Art of Fugue'
  Contrapunctus 1 (fortepiano)
  Contrapunctus 2 (fortepiano)
  Contrapunctus 3 (harpsichord)

Ricercar à 3 from 'Musical Offering' (fortepiano)


Harpsichord music of Josef Haydn

Allegro from Sonata in C major, Hob. XVI/35 (harpsichord)

Largo & Finale from Sonata in D major, Hob. XVI/37 (fortepiano)

Sonata in F major, Hob. XVI/23 (harpsichord)

Minuet & Trio from Symphony no. 96 'The Miracle' (fortepiano)
  from a contemporary arrangement


12-page salmon series booklet
Programme Notes: 

No programme notes.
In advance of the concert at 7 pm in the Laigh Room Peter Williams will give a lecture on 'Bach on original pianos'.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets £2.50 (series [7 concerts] £11), Concessions £1.50 (series [7 concerts] £8.50
Publicity and Reviews: 

Dark pink poster giving outline details of all seven concerts

[Reid] Professor: 
Faculty of Music, University of Edinburgh

Harpsichord by Kirckman 1755, acquired for the Russell Collection in 1971 with the Fund of the Friends of St Cecilia's Hall; fortepiano by Backers 1772, property of the Duke of Wellington (owned by the first Duchess, Lady Packenham; on long loan to the university, 1967).

Harpsichord and piano maintenance by Grant O'Brien, Philippe Fritsch and John Barnes.  

After the lecture light refreshments will be served in the Laigh Room, admission by ticket, price £2.50 which should be purchased in advance.
Interval refreshments in the Laigh Room by the kind assistance of the Friends of St Cecilia's Hall.