Annual Reid Concert 1919

Saturday, February 8, 1919
3.00 pm
Third season/First concert

M. Louis Fleury - flute
Professor Donald Francis Tovey - conductor

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1.  March, "In the Garb of old Gaul" ... General Reid

2.  Overture for the Consecration of the House, op. 124 ... Beethoven

3.  Fourth Sonata in G major, for flute and figured bass ... General Reid
    Solo flute - M. Louis Fleury

4. Siegfried Idyll ... Wagner

5.  Concerto in D major, for flute and orchestra ... Mozart
    Solo flute - M. Louis Fleury

6.  Symphony no. 1, in D major, op. 60 ... Dvořák
       Allegro non tanto
       Scherzo or Furiant (a Bohemian Dance).  Presto
       Finale. Allegro con spirito



16 page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Programme notes by D.F.T.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Programme: one shilling

The Dvořák Symphony listed in the programme as Symphony no. 1 in D major, op. 6 has since been renumbered and is now identified as Symphony No. 6 in D major, op. 60.  First performed and published in 1881.  It is likely that the mention of op. 6 in the printed programme is a misprint and should read, op. 60 as Tovey mentions in his programme note that "it is no means the work of a young man; its opus number is true to the facts and shows that Dvořák, like Brahms, had waited long and experienced much before venturing on the responsibilities of a symphony."