Annual Reid Concert 1916

Saturday, February 12, 1916
3.00 pm
1916, first concert

The first of three 'New Reid Concerts' introduced by Professor Tovey.


Mr Alfred Halstead - flute

The Scottish Orchestra String Quartet
Mr Horace Fellowes (1st violin), Mr Guy McGrath (2nd violin), Mr Walter Haigh (viola), Mr Herbert Withers (violoncello)

Professor D.F.Tovey - pianoforte

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 


1. Andante for flute and pianoforte ... General Reid

2. Six-part fugue from "Das Musikalische Opfer" ... J. S. Bach
    Sonata for flute, violin and continue ... J. S. Bach

3. Phantasy in F sharp minor for violin, viola, violoncello and pianoforte ... Frank Bridge

4.  Preludes for pianoforte ... Brucken Fock
  Andante con moto, (G major, op. 16, no. 1)
  Andante non slentando (D minor, op. 16 no. 2)
  Andante (F sharp major, op. 15, no. 13)
  Tempo di Barcarola (F minor, op. 15, no. 18)
  Andante con moto (A major, Op. 15, no. 7)
  Allegretto (D major, op. 15, no. 5)
  Lento assai (G minor, op. 15, no. 22)
  Allegretto con tenerezza (G major, op. 15, no. 3)

5.  Variations on a Theme by Gluck for flute and string quartet, op. 28 ... D.F.Tovey

6.  Quintet in E flat for pianoforte and strings, op. 44 ... Schumann

16-page programme
Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Tickets 5/- (reserved), 2/6 and 1/- for each concert; Programme sixpence
Publicity and Reviews: 

Tickets available at Messrs Paterson & Sons, 27 George Street and
Messrs Methven Simpson Limited, 83 Princes Street

David Macdonald, 74 Hanover Street, Edinburgh