Annual Reid Concert 1913

Wednesday, February 19, 1913
1912-1913, Concert IV of IV

A concert of quintets for two violins, viola, and two violoncellos.


Mr Henri Verbrugghen - first violin
Miss Jenny Cullen - second violin
Mr David E. Nichols - viola
Mr James Messeas - first violoncello
Mr J. H. Foulds - second violoncello

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

In memory of General John Reid

Introduction, pastorale, minuet, and march ... General Reid


Quintet in E major ... Luigi Boccherini

     a. Amoroso, 3/8
     b. Allegro con spirito
     c. Minuetto, 3/4
     d. Rondo, andante, 2/4


Quintet in G minor ... Georges Onslow

      a. Allegro spirituoso e espressivo
      b. Menuetto, allegro, 3/4
      c. Andante cantabile, 3/8
      d. Finale, allegro vivace, 2/4


Quintet in C major ... Franz Schubert

       a. Allegro, ma non troppo
       b. Adagio, 12/8
       c. Scherzo, presto, 3/4
       d. Allegretto

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a three-page essay (pp.3-5) concerning the relatively unusual repertoire of quintets for two violins, viola and two violoncellos. The three composers featured in the concert are given special mention.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1912-1913 season.


The movement titles of the Boccherini quintet strongly suggest that the work performed on this occasion was op. 11 no. 5; see the Boccherini Complete Edition: Le Opere Complete di Luigi Boccherini, Quintetti, vol.II (Rome, 1970), pp.129-173.