Annual Reid Concert 1911

Wednesday, February 15, 1911
1910-1911, Concert IV of IV

A recital of eight-part wind-instrument music, interspersed with pianoforte and violin music.


Mr Henri Verbrugghen - conductor and violinist
Miss Allie Cullen - pianist
Mr J. S. Sinclair - oboe
Mr J. Hartley - oboe
Mr R. D. McHaffie - clarinet
Mr R. Graham - clarinet
Mr T. Drummond - bassoon
Mr Ch. Borwick - bassoon
Mr E. Angless - horn
Mr O. Deichen - horn

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

In memory of General John Reid
March ... General Reid


1. Octet, op. 103, in E flat major, for two oboes, two clarinets, two horns, and two bassoons ... Ludwig van Beethoven
    (an early work, the original of the string quartet, op. 4, which later was published in 1797)
       a. Allegro
       b. Andante, 6/8
       c. Menuetto, 3/4
       d. Presto (finale)

2. Sonata in A major for pianoforte and violin (composed in 1785) ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
       a. Allegro molto, 6/8
       b. Andante
       c. Presto

3. Two movements (the only ones) of an octet in F major for eight wind instruments (composed in 1813) ... Franz Schubert
       a. Allegretto (menuetto), 3/4
       b. Allegro (finale), 2/4

4. Rondino in E flat major for eight wind instruments ... Ludwig van Beethoven
      (composed probably at Bonn before 1793, and published posthumously in 1829)

5. Rondo, op. 70, in B minor, for pianoforte and violin (composed in 1826) ... Franz Schubert
        Andante, 3/4, and Allegro

6. Serenade, no. 12, in C minor, for eight wind instruments (composed in 1782) ... Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
       a. Allegro
       b. Andante, 3/8
       c. Menuetto in canone, 3/4
       d. Allegro, 2/4

8-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

The introduction to the programme consists of a short 1¼ page essay (pp.2-3) that discusses in very general terms wind music for pairs of oboes, clarinets, horns and bassoons.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the inside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1910-1911 season.


Although the Köchel numbers are not listed for either of the two Mozart pieces, the serenade no. 12 in C minor is easily identifiable as K. 388, while the movement titles and time signatures of the sonata for violin and piano in A major enables it to be identified as K. 526.