Annual Reid Concert 1910

Wednesday, February 23, 1910
1909-1910, Concert IV of IV

A recital of string quartets by Ludwig van Beethoven.


Mr Henri Verbrugghen - first violin
Mr Guy Magrath - second violin
Mr D. E. Nichols - viola
Mr Jas. Messeas - violoncello
Mr Matthew Shirlaw, Mus.B., FRCO - organ

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

In memory of General John Reid

Pastorale, minuet, and march ... General Reid


Programme of three string quartets by Ludwig van Beethoven

1. In D major, op. 18, no. 3
     a. Allegro
     b. Andante con moto
     c. Allegro
     d. Presto


2. In F major, op. 59, no. 1
    a. Allegro
    b. Allegretto, vivace e sempre scherzando
    c. Adagio molto e mesto
    d. Allegro


3. In C sharp minor, op. 131
    1. Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo
    2. Allegro molto vivace
    3. Allegro moderato
    4. Andante ma non troppo e molto cantabile
    5. Presto
    6. Adagio quasi un poco andante
    7. Allegro


10-page booklet
Programme Notes: 

There is a short two-page essay (pp.3-4) concerning 'Beethoven's string quartets', with special reference to his so-called 'third style'. In addition, there are three pages of musical examples (pp.7-9) for the quartet in C sharp minor, op. 131.

Ticket and/or Programme Price(s): 
Fee for series: 10/6
Publicity and Reviews: 

On the outside back page - dates and programmes of the four historical concerts for the 1909-1910 season.