Annual Reid Concert 1902

Wednesday, February 19, 1902
1901-1902, Concert IV of IV

"Some forgotten symphony composers"


An orchestra of twenty-six players selected from the Scottish Orchestra
Leader - Mr F. Siegl
Conductor - Professor Niecks

Work(s) / Composer(s) / Opus No(s): 

In memory of General Reid
Introduction, pastorale, minuet and march ... General Reid

I.  "The transformation of Actæon into a Stag." ... Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf
  no. 3 of the Symphonies after Ovid's "Metamorphoses"

II.  Symphony in D major (1776) ... Carl Philip Emanuel Bach

III. "The transformation of the Lydian peasants into frogs." ... Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf
  no. 5 (in the now printed, no. 6 in the original order) of the Symphonies after Ovid's "Metamorphoses"

IV.  Symphony in C major ... Ignaz Pleyel

8 page booklet
Programme Notes: 

Movement titles for all four works and descriptions of the movements for the two Dittserdorf works

Extensive essay by Professor Niecks to introduce the programme.  This preface is reproduced in Musical Times & Singing Class Circular, Vol. 43, No. 710 (Apr. 1, 1902) pp. 241-242

Publicity and Reviews: 

On the back page are listed the dates and programmes of the four historical concerts in the series.